SOURASHTRA COLLEGE

(AUTONOMOUS)

(A Linguistic Minority Co-educational Institution)

Affiliated to Madurai Kamaraj University

Reaccredited with 'B' Grade by NAAC

Vilachery Main Road, Pasumalai (PO)

MADURAI - 625 004



Syllabi of Various Departments presented at

NINTH ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING

07.03.2018

CONTENTS

(Syllabus under CBCS w.e.f. 2017-18)

Sl.No.	Particulars	Page
		No.
1.	List of Academic Council Members	iii
2.	Agenda for IX Academic Council Meeting	viii
3.	Syllabus – Department of Chemistry	1
4.	Syllabus – Department of M.Phil (English)	12
5.	Syllabus – Department of M.Phil (Management)	19
6.	Ratification – Department of B.Com(Corporate Secretaryship)	23
7.	Presentation of Ratification by the Chairman of	25
	B.Com(Corporate Secretaryship)	
8.	Presentation of General Resolutions	26

NINTH ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEMBERS

Chairman : Dr. L.P. Ramalingam,

Principal

Dean of Academic affairs : Dr. V.K.Vijayakumar

Associate Professor and Head, Dept.of Computer Science

Deputy Dean : Dr. G.Sivabalan

Assistant Professor, Dept. of English

MADURAI KAMARAJ UNIVERSITY NOMINEES

Dr. M.Lellis Thivagar

Member Syndicate Professor & Head Dept.of Mathematics School of Mathematics Madurai Kamaraj University Madurai – 625 021

Dr. M. Kannan

Principal Saraswathi Narayanan College Perungudi Madurai – 625 022

Dr.G.S.Selvam

Professor & Head

Department of Bio-chemistry

School of Biological Sciences Madurai Kamaraj University Madurai – 625 021

EXTERNAL EXPERTS

Thiru.M.V.Sathiyamoorthy,

Industrialist "Mayilagam" - 5, Thirumakulam south street (Entrance : Gokhale Road), Tallakulam Madurai – 625 002

Thiru.S.S.Manoharan, B.Sc., B.L.,

Advocate 28, Lakshmipuram 3rd street, Madurai – 625 001

Thiru.A.P.Jagadeesh,

Chartered Accountant 240, Kamarajar Salai 2nd floor Madurai – 625 009

Thiru S.Selvaraj

The Officer Canara Bank Sourashtra College, Pasumalai Branch Madurai – 625 004

SPECIAL INVITEES

Prof. N.H.Saravanan

Controller of Examinations

Prof. C.K.Sivakumar

Deputy Controller of Examinations

Dr. M.S. Balaji

Dean-Research

Lt.Dr.K.R.Srinivasan

Co-ordinator, IQAC

Dr.A.K.Balasubramanian

Associate Professor of Physics

Dr.B.Anbazhagan

Associate Professor of Business Administration

TEACHERS REPRESENTATIVES

Prof. M.R.Sridaran

Department of Commerce

Prof. M.N.Saroja

Department of Mathematics

Dr. V. Santha

Department of Corporate Secretaryship

Dr.K.K.Vijayakumar

Department of Commerce

MEMBER SECRETARY

Dr. J.Duraichamy_

Assistant Professor of Commerce

CHAIRMEN OF VARIOUS BOARDS

T3	D., D. Cl.:	
Tamil	Dr. R. Chitra	
Hindi	Dr. Rohini Pandian	
Sanskrit	Dr. A. Gunaseelan	
English (B.A., M.A., PART-II)	Dr.M.R. Rashila	
Business Administration (BBA)	Dr. K.P. Ganesan	
Corporate Secretaryship (B.Com-CS)	Dr. K.Mohan	
Commerce (B.Com., B.Com-CA, M.Com.,)	Prof. M.R.Sridaran	
Mathematics (B.Sc., M.Sc.,)	Prof. N.S. Ravindran	
Physics (B.Sc.,)	Capt. T.K. Vishnuram	
Chemistry (B.Sc.,)	Dr. C.R. Yuvarajan	
Computer Science (B.Sc.,)	Dr. V.K. Vijayakumar	
BCA	Prof. O.K. Hariharan	
Biochemistry (B.Sc.,)	Prof. M.Jothi Muniandi	
Information Technology (B.Sc.,)	Prof. T.S.B. Arunprasanth	
Microbiology (B.Sc.,)	Prof. N.B. Sharmila	
Mathematics with Comp. Appln. (B.Sc.,)	Prof. S.Ganesan	
Computer Science (B.Sc.,) (SF)	Prof.K.R.Thanikasalam	
Electronics and Communications (B.Sc.,)	Prof. M. Saravana Kumar	
MBA	Prof. K.S. Aswath Babu	
MCA	Prof. S. Bharani Sethu Pandian	
M.Com.,(Computer Application)	Prof. T.K. Ravichandran	
Economics	Lt.Dr. K.R.Srinivasan	
Botany	Dr.M.Venkatesan	
NCC	Lt.Dr.K.R. Srinivasan	
Physical Education	Dr. S.R.V. Ravindran	
Library	Thiru.C.S.Vijayakumar	
Extension Activities – NSS, YRC, RRC, CCC,	Prof.M.K.Eswarlal	
WUS, LIB, PED		
Gandian Thought – CGT,DGT	Dr.S.M.Nandhini	

RESEARCH PROGRAMME

NAME OF THE DEPARTMENT/BOARD	CHAIRMAN
M.Phil (English)	Dr.M.R. Rashila
M.Phil (Commerce)	Dr.L.P.Ramalingam
M.Phil (Management)	Dr.M.S.Balaji
M.Phil (Physics)	Dr.A.K.Balasubramanian

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES

NAME OF THE STUDENT	DEPARTMENT
M.Subramania Siva	III B.A. English
A.S.Manikandan	III B.Sc., Maths
Ms.C.R.Pavithra	III B.Sc(Physics)
Mukesh Kumar	III B.Sc(Chemistry)
T.A.Karthickbabu	III B.Sc(Comp.Sc.)
T.G.Giritharan	III B.Com
A.Kulandai savari Raj	III B.Com(CS)
N.R.Sharmila	II M.A. English
G.Mugundan	II M.Sc., Maths
J.K.Kishore	II M.Com
Rahul	II M.Com.(CA)
Sebastin David	III MCA
Akshaya priya	I MBA
A.Anitha	III B.Sc(Bio-Chem)
A.R.Kowsalya	III B.Sc(Micro Bio)
S.Arunkumar	III B.C.A

NINTH ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING

AGENDA

Date: 07.03.2018 Time: 2.30 P.M.

- 1. Presentation of Syllabi for B.Sc.(Chemistry), M.Phil.(English), M.Phil.(Management)
 Courses by the Chairmen of respective Boards
- 2. Ratification sought by the Chairman of B.Com(Corporate Secretaryship)
- 3. Other matters, if any

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

- 1. The meeting began with prayer by **Dr.M.R.Rashila**.
- 2. **Dr. V.K.Vijayakumar**, Dean, Academic Affairs, welcomed the gathering. In his welcome address, he highlighted that the College has successfully crossed the milestone of 50 years and marching towards sustaining the state of art Teaching and Learning in the campus.
- 3. The Chairman and Principal **Dr. L.P. Ramalingam** in his address highlighted the Academic and Extracurricular activities carried out during the year 2017-18.

As part of the Centenary celebrations commemorating the Birth Anniversary of Bharat Ratna Dr.M.G.R, our College students participated in various programmes organized by the Madurai District Collector and Madurai Kamaraj University.

Two International Conferences were organized by the Dept.of English and Computer Science. This year, faculty members from various Departments received Ph.D., Research Guideship from Madurai Kamaraj University. He appreciated the students who participated in the Chief Minister Trophy in Hockey and Table Tennis

games and won the Cash Prizes of Rs.75,000/= and Rs.1,00,000/= respectively from the Tamil Nadu Government. He also appreciated the students who were placed in various companies.

He expressed his deep gratitude for the strenuous effort taken by the staff members in various activities for the development of the College.

- 4. The Chairmen of B.Sc(Chemistry), M.Phil.,(English), M.Phil(Management) Courses placed their syllabi before the Academic Council for approval. The course structure and syllabi of each course had already been approved in the Board of Studies Meeting of the concerned departments, and it was approved by the academic council.
- 5. The Chairman of B.Com(Corporate Secretaryship) placed the syllabi before the academic council for ratification. The syllabi had already been approved in the Board of Studies Meeting of B.Com(Corporate Secretaryship), and it was approved by the academic council.
- 6. The Dean, Academic Affairs, **Dr.V.K.Vijayakumar** moved the resolution regarding the conduct of Research Programmes (M.Phil / Ph.D) as per the revised guidelines of MKU and UGC.

He moved another resolution that any common papers may be adopted by the College as an elective paper for UG courses in any discipline as and when suggested by UGC / NSDC through its website.

Both the resolutions were approved by the academic council.

- 7. The Controller of Examinations **Mr.N.H.Saravanan** moved the resolution of scrapping of answer scripts of Summative Examinations. It was approved by the academic council.
- 8. Then discussions followed.
 - **Dr. M. Lellis Thivagar**, Member Syndicate and Madurai Kamaraj University nominee suggested that, in framing the curriculum one should take into account the twenty one parameters as given by the Madurai Kamaraj University.
- 9. **Dr. G. Sivabalan**, Deputy Dean, Academic Affairs, proposed a Vote of thanks.

DEAN Academic Affairs **PRINCIPAL**